Silver Linings

Hello world!!!
I have made it a goal this past week to write at least one miracle, or silver lining, a day. MAN, Sister Hobbs and I have never felt so rejected by the people than we have this week. Haha we did have a guy say to us in a really grumpy mood, “God bless you and go.” And then he shut the door. That was probably my favorite one of the week. I have to be honest, it was hard to keep a positive attitude throughout some of the days but reminding myself to look for the silver linings helped a lot.
Some of this week’s silver linings:
I went on exchanges with Sister Huang on Tuesday! Haha it was pretty awkward in contacts when we introduced ourselves. It reminded me of the days with my trainer, Sister Huang! Anyway, Sister Huang is on fire and she has such a powerful testimony. She is an only child and the only member of her family. From the moment she got baptized, she knew she wanted to serve a mission. And she is a dang good missionary. She’s also hilarious. We had a lesson with an investigator and invited a member and the lesson turned to be a semi-bible bash (not good). After the lesson, Sister Huang was turned to me and was like “That was AWESOME!! I learned so much!!!” Haha and yes because Chinese people don’t ever do that and we did learn a lot about the Bible. I love Sister Huang.
We found out that Paul Walker and his parents are in our Ward. Less active of course though.
Thursday was probably the hardest day. But we felt prompted the night before to go past a former whose wife is a less active. We went over and both were not home, but his mom was! We got to share a message of the Restoration of the gospel with her and found out that she had taken the missionary lessons fifteen years ago. She said the biggest hold up was she didn’t believe in the Book of Mormon and Joseph Smith. But maybe, fifteen years later, that will change! We are meeting her again tomorrow and we can’t wait!
Remember the returning less active couple who I said was preparing to go to the temple for the first time to do baptisms for the dead? Well, they made it on Saturday and had a wonderful experience! The bishop invited the wife to go up and share her experience and it was short, sweet and powerful. She said that after 33 years, she finally understood why it is so important and NECESSARY to go to the temple. At the end, she put it best: “if you haven’t gone, go, because you’re missing out.” I am so grateful for the temple and for the eternal blessings we receive there.
Even though we weren’t able to find any solid investigators who are willing to progress, God blessed us with at least one really good lesson everyday where we felt the Spirit. And it always happened to be at the end of the day. I know that God is watching over us and helping us. I may not understand His purpose or His timing perfectly yet, and I might be impatient about it sometimes, but I know He loves me and He loves all the people we talk to. I know He is still hastening His work and I know that the work I am doing everyday is the work of salvation. I know that the Book of Mormon is true. I know that is really is the most powerful tool we have to teach with, combined with the Spirit. And it is so evident that that is true because the adversary is definitely trying really hard to prevent people from reading and praying about the Book of Mormon. I’ve never heard of a book that has been attacked and criticized more than the Book of Mormon. But I know it to be true and I cannot deny it! I love teaching from the Book of Mormon and I love studying it every day.
Our stake started doing Family Mission Plans! We had stake conference last week where they introduced it and this week, us missionaries are starting to go to the families in the Ward to help them fill out there family mission plan. I’ll attach a picture of what it looks like, but it’s really legit. The first family Sister Hobbs and I got to do it with was actually the Stake President and his wife, who is our Relief Society President. As we knelt in prayer and President Morgan prayed to have the Spirit to help them know who to put on their plan, the Spirit was really strong and names and faces popped into our minds. They created a really awesome family mission plan – some of their goals included giving a Book of Mormon, inviting someone to church, asking their friends if they are interested in meeting with the missionaries, etc.. – and said that they wanted to complete it all by July 1. So ambitious! We are so excited to continue doing this with more members of the Ward!
In efforts to stay positive about all the rejection and bashing and empty homes, Sister Hobbs and I decided to memorize and recite Matthew 5:44:
“But I say unto you, Love your enemies, bless them that curse you, do good to them that hate you, and pray for them which despitefully use you, and persecute you;”
So basically, holding on and continuing to strive for charity!
I hope you all had a good week and that you have a better week this upcoming week! I invite you all to make Book of Mormon reading a daily routine – if you don’t have a copy, let me know and I’ll send you one! I know that giving God five minutes to read His word will bless you. And I know that the Book of Mormon will strengthen your relationship with God and your testimony of Jesus Christ.
I love you all!!

Love,

Sister Huang
Leave a Reply

