“Let us cheerfully do all things that lie in our power”

image1 (39)

A member took this on the Fourth of July. We got to celebrate it with Bishop!

Hello world!!!

We had a busy busy week in which we didn’t get to work in our area too much. But we still saw many miracles and I feel like we are on the uphill! We had Mission Leadership Council and Zone Meetings in which President put a huge emphasis on what a successful missionary is. We all know that numbers don’t measure our success as a missionary, but
sometimes it gets to you. Or at least it did for Sister Hobbs and me.

In President Villanueva’s training, he told us that no matter how “hard” your area is, your commitment stays the same. Happy missionaries are missionaries who know their purpose to find, teach and baptize, and are completely focused on it. One of the assistants
said something that I really liked. He said he had a companion that asked him how many people he had baptized and the assistant told him “thousands.” Of course, his companion was confused so explained that every person he talks to, he talks with the purpose of teaching and baptizing them, believing that one day, each person he talked to will meet missionaries again and be baptized. It was just a very powerful meeting. In my notes, I wrote:

“Today, I have felt peace and I have felt that in God’s eyes, I am a successful missionary. I am very grateful that President Villanueva was inspired to teach and instruct on this topic. This was an answer to my prayers.”

Now this doesn’t mean I’m a perfect missionary because I am soooo far
from that, but I felt confirmation that I have been doing my best and
Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ accept my sacrifice and efforts. But
there’s always more to do and improve and I’m grateful for the
Spirit’s guidance in helping me know how to!

We have a progressing investigator who accepted our invitation to be baptized! We are giving her a date tonight and we are excited! The last lesson we had with her was really neat in which we introduced the Book of Mormon and there were inspired questions everywhere. She has a sincere desire to read and to learn and when we called to follow up,
she said that she’s been having her husband read it to her aloud at night! Hopefully we get to meet him soon. She’s also been having really bad foot pain so we had a member of the bishopric come with us to the lesson and then give her a priesthood blessing. After the
blessing, she said that as he was giving it, the pain was already starting to go away. I am so grateful for the priesthood.

We did a go and see exchange with the Pasadena sisters in which both Sister Hobbs and I went to their area for the day and worked with them. We wanted to help them set more people on date so as I was with Sister Newman, we tried to bring up baptism in every contact. We invited two people on the street to be baptized and they said YES! And then we met with one of their investigators and invited him to be baptized on August 20 and he said yes! It felt so natural to talk about baptism, even during street contacts! So that was really cool and we saw a lot of miracles from being bold and on purpose.

Saturday night was so great. We had a Ward BBQ and so many non-members showed up! I don’t think I’ve ever attended a ward function that was so well attended by non-members. We had an Armenian family, a less active and his girlfriend, a random couple that saw the BBQ and decided to come and join, and another family! It was so legit. Also, at the end of the night, I couldn’t find my purse with my iPad and everything. The members were so sweet and had their kids look all through the park and a member even went through the trash. But it was nice because I never panicked; it was definitely the Spirit reassuring me that it would turn up. And it did! A member accidentally put it in his trunk haha. All was well in Zion.

I love being a missionary! And being in the moment and soaking every second in has made it even better. I know that the gospel we share with everyone is true. I know that the Atonement covers and makes up for all of our short comings. I know that as long as we try our best, the Lord will accept our offering, no matter how small or insignificant it might be. I love my Savior Jesus Christ and Heavenly Father.

Love,
Sister Huang

Leave a Reply

