I Glory in Plainness

Hello world!!!

Happy Fourth of July!! Today is Sister Hobbs’ first time celebrating Fourth of July! Considering neither of us are technically Americans, I say we are pretty patriotic for wearing red, white and blue haha. It’s also my 17 month mark which is like, whoa.

I was reading this morning in 2 Nephi 33 and I really liked verse 6, which says: “I glory in plainness; I glory in truth; I glory in my Jesus, for he hath redeemed my soul from hell.”

I love the gospel and its teachings because it really is so simple and plain and it is true. Right now, we still don’t have much of a teaching pool so we do a ton of finding everyday and I am learning to really love it because it gives us more opportunities to testify simply and plainly of the restored truths. I love bearing testimony of the Restoration. It is a message that makes so much sense! After Jesus Christ and His apostles all died, the authority to run the church was taken away for many centuries. There was no church on the earth that was Christ’s church that had that proper authority to teach and baptize. So of course, the world NEEDED His church to be restored back on the earth! And that’s why Joseph Smith is so important. It was through him that Jesus Christ was able to restore His church along with that proper authority – the priesthood – to teach and baptize.

However a chapter earlier in 2 Nephi 32, Nephi said: “I am left to mourn because of the unbelief, and the wickedness, and the ignorance, and the stiffneckedness of men; for they will not search knowledge, nor understand great knowledge, when it is given unto them in plainness, even as plain as word can be.”

We teach and testify of the plain truths to so many people everyday and so often people tell us that they only need the Bible or that they already are saved or they simply just don’t believe without even experimenting on the word. I feel like I’ve been rejected more these
past 2 transfers than I have my entire mission. And it is sad because we know how much the restored gospel and the Book of Mormon can bless each individual and family. But I’ve learned and relearned time and time again that we are just responsible for teaching the gospel plainly and boldly and inviting people to accept it. Everything that happens after that, we cannot control and we just have to hand it over to God.

Last night, our district leader called for the weekly call-in and asked us a question that made me really reflect and think. He knew that we had been struggling to find any progressing investigators, despite the fact we teach 30+ lessons every week. He asked us if we would be okay and satisfied if we didn’t have any progressing investigators for the rest of our missions. Obviously, it was a question that makes you think if you really are giving your all into the work – a question that reminded us of what really makes a successful missionary. At first, I was like, no. But then after thinking on it more and talking with Sister Hobbs, both of us felt like we would be okay. We can honestly say we are talking with every single person and working hard everyday.

And we do have miracles! For example, an investigator accepted a baptism invite! He is the husband of a returning less active that we are working with and he was very devout in his other church for a long time. But he came to church for the first time yesterday with his wife and kid and after, told Bishop that he is willing to give the LDS church a second chance. We met with him later and taught him the Restoration and invited him to be baptized and he said yes!!!! However, he is a truck driver and is gone for four weeks at a time. He is hopefully switching companies, but that can’t happen until September so the baptism probably won’t be until then. But it was so happy and he is so sincere and open in learning. It was such a neat thing to see his wife and him share the blessings they’ve noticed since she started going to church. He recognizes the Lord guiding him.

I just want to also bear testimony of the necessity of weekly church attendance and partaking of the sacrament. I know that it was revelation to have go to all three hours of church. All three blocks have the sole purpose in helping us come closer to Christ and
strengthen our testimony of Him. I was really struggling with some personal issues towards the end of the week and I was so excited for church. During the sacrament, I felt completely at peace. I felt Heavenly Father letting me know that I was okay. I felt healed. Then in Sunday School and Relief Society, there were things that were said and taught that were exactly the things I needed to hear.

I know that the Atonement is real and that it heals all wounds and enables us to be better than we were the day before. I have felt of its power and I have seen it work miracles among many others. I love my Savior Jesus Christ and I know He knows me and each of you perfectly.

I love you all so dearly! Have a wonderful week.

Love,
Sister Huang

P.S.: I don’t think I’ll be able to send any pictures for the rest of my mission because I don’t have the camera cord…. Sorry!

Leave a Reply

