Gratitude is the Best Attitude

Hello world!!!
Happy Father’s Day! I am so grateful for my dad who is a great example to me of diligence, self-discipline, obedience and being yourself. I love you dad!
It is currently 115 degrees here in Sunland and the power is out so we are finding refuge somewhere else haha.
Guys, we had a great week this week! I feel the past couple of weeks, I have been a Debbie Downer so I decided to change my outlook and attitude for my last several weeks. We did studies with the Huntington sisters and Sister Plumb said something that was a great reminder to me. She said that every missionary has miracles – you can’t go through your mission without having miracles. She said that the miracles also depend on the person. We are all different and unique and our miracles are the same way. Some people might have more noticeable and measurable miracles and some people might have more subtle miracles, but they should all be appreciated the same. Gratitude really is the best attitude!
We had a really cool experience with following the Spirit and exercising obedience on Saturday. At the beginning of the week, I asked Heavenly Father what more could we do to find the elect. I was studying PMG chapter 9 and realized that one thing we could improve was to work around the neighborhood of the referrals we receive. Going back to Saturday, we had a fall through and we were feeling kind of down so we prayed for faith and for direction. We had a lot of people that we planned to visit and the Hogan family (a referral from Bishop’s wife from a while ago – they were dropped) stuck out to me. So we went and knocked and they weren’t home. But we remembered to work around the area! We knocked on two doors and no one was home and then we knocked on the door across and this lady opens the door. We introduced ourselves and she said that missionaries had met with her before and she also has a Book of Mormon. She was really tired but invited us in and gave us six grape fruits and told us she would LOVE for us to come back! After so many days and weeks of rejection, having someone invite us in right away and to come back again was AMAZING.
Then we walked out and this couple is walking and we talked with them and asked if we could come back next week and they said yes! And then we were standing by our car when a lady and her daughter walk by. I had an impression that the lady was Mrs. Hogan. And then we were being stalker like and watched which house she went to and it was the Hogan’s house! Okay you might think that being a missionary for 16 months, I would be more bold and not afraid to talk with people, but the fear of man definitely still gets me sometimes. For some reason, it took us a couple of minutes to muster up the courage to go knock the door. She opened and LET US IN. We were able to share a message and set up a return appointment next week! Saturday night was a night of miracles. It was also Sister Hobbs’ 10 month mark!
I did exchanges in Glendale last Tuesday and it was so great. Sister Dunn has grown so much in confidence and skill since I was companions with her for that one week in January. I really look up to her and she is a great example to me of a bold and loving missionary. She is also incredibly focused and is always striving to be better.
We have been doing the Family Mission Plan with a lot of the families here in this ward and it has been a really cool experience! We got to kneel down with five families this past week and to see them experience personal revelation as to who they should share the gospel with. We promised them with their own miracles in participating in the hastening of the work. And we were able to get some referrals!!!!!
We did a little hike in the Los Angeles National Forest this morning and did our studies up there! I don’t know why we decided to hike on the hottest day, but it was a really cool experience of endurance and appreciation and receiving personal revelation in the mountains. We also sung hymns all the way back and it was delightful.
I can’t believe it’s the last week of the transfer! This transfer went by so fast and even though it’s been really hard, I am really glad that I am companions with Sister Hobbs in the Sunland Ward. The work is progressing here, it really is!
I love you all! Thank you for the advice, love, encouragement and support! I am so grateful for the opportunity I have to serve the Lord and to exercise my faith in Him everyday. I know that the enabling power and redeeming power of the Atonement is real. The Atonement is to help us feel forgiven of our sins and to also help us overcome the natural man and its tendencies.
Have a wonderful week and stay cool!

Love,

Sister Huang

Leave a Reply

