Hello world!!
> Wow this week was amazing. We picked up 11 new investigators and 3 families and our progressing investigator’s husband! Looking at the past week and the past 5 months I’ve been in Sunland, I’m starting to see the full picture. God has perfect timing and I am a witness of that.
>
> The first family we picked up is an Armenian family. I had met the dad and one of the daughters back in March on exchanges. She wanted to join our choir but her dad wouldn’t let her come until school was over. So we didn’t see her until three weeks ago when she contacted us again and told us she wanted to be in the choir. So the whole family came to choir practice and then came again to the Ward BBQ last week and we were finally able to sit down with all of them on Saturday to share the gospel with them. I was on exchanges with Sister Cook and it was so good. We had dinner with them (first time having real Armenian meal! It was so yummy!) and then shared our purpose and taught the Restoration. We invited them to be baptized and they said yes!!!! After exchanges, I told Sister Hobbs what happened and we both felt very grateful and touched and happy. After basically 2 months of not having much of a teaching pool and finding all day, we found a
> family who wants to get baptized!!!
>
> So again, I’ve been focusing on seeking for and following the Spirit’s promptings. Yesterday, we were coming back from an appointment and going to find a less active before we went to our dinner appointment. We had forgotten that she lived kind of out of the way from where we were heading. As we were driving, we considered going to visit someone else who lived closer, but then we felt that we should keep going and stick with our original plan. We got to her apartment and she wasn’t home. As we were waiting outside, her next door neighbor comes out and tells us no one lives there. That was sad, but then he invited us in to his home. We met him and his wife and their ADORABLE almost two-year old daughter and got to teach them about how the gospel blesses families! And now we are going to meet with them tonight!
>
> Earlier this week, we had a straight day of finding. During companionship study, we prayed and wrote down five streets that came up in our minds and decided which one to go to tract on. Sister Hobbs was Marnice Ave. and mine was Owens St. We went to Marnice first and got to teach several people. Then, we went to Owens St. and not only did we not teach anybody, we also got rejected and called some pretty bad names. After an unsuccessful tracting experience on the street I felt prompted to go on, I probably should’ve felt confused or discouraged. But I think Heavenly Father blessed me with continued optimism. I felt prompted to go there so I went through with the prompting and that was good enough success for me. I feel at times, we are prompted to do things or go to places that don’t lead up to much or any success. At those times, I believe it’s Heavenly Father testing us to see if we will follow His promptings, no matter the results because that shows whether or not He can trust us.
>
> The next day, we tracted another street that I felt prompted to go to and almost everyone was home and we ran into a really dear friend from the Ward that moved back in March! She’s been having a lot of issues and is in between a rock and a hard place. We didn’t have a lot of time, but it was so good to see her and hug her and remind her of the big picture. My heart was filled with joy to see her after 4 months, but it was also crushed because of her situation. But I am so grateful Heavenly Father prompted us to go tract that street.
>
> Like I said earlier before, I went on exchanges with Sister Cook. She’s going home in September and she’s been STL for I think 10 or 11 months and she’s awesome. I learned so much from her, especially about faith. Her faith is so strong – literally no doubt and pure faith. And you can see how she is able to work so many miracles because of her faith! Something else she taught me was that we need to learn to be vulnerable – it’s a sign of humility. Often times, I put a wall up and there are very very very few people that I can put my wall down. But she taught me that as we take our walls down, we are able to  more of expose ourselves to heaven’s help as well as to others’ help to improve and be better. It goes back to one of my favorite scriptures in Ether 12:27:
>
> “And if men come unto me I will show unto them their weakness. I give unto men weakness that they may be humble; and my grace is sufficient for all men that humble themselves before me; for if they humble themselves before me, and have faith in me, then will I make weak things become strong unto them.”
>
> In my personal prayers, I’ve been asking “what lack I yet?” for a while now and I felt like that was my answer. To be vulnerable because I need help to be more like Christ. I need A LOT of help and I need it from my companions, other missionaries, members, leaders, family, friends and Jesus Christ. In just one day of focusing on that, I’ve seen many blessings and have been able to feel the Spirit in more abundance.
>
> I know Heavenly Father is very aware of us. I know He tailors our circumstances to our needs so that we can improve and one day, be like He is. I know that He hears and answers our prayers and I know He loves each of you perfectly. I know my Savior lives and that He suffered so that He can succor, or run to us, in whatever circumstance we might be in. I love Him and I love all of you! Thank you for the continual support and encouragement and love! I feel extremely blessed :).
>
> Love,
> Sister Huang

Leave a Reply

