Miracles are Abundant

Hello world!!

Happy SIXTEENTH birthday to my favorite sister, Harriet!! I can’t believe you’re already sixteen….. I love you so so much and I hope your birthday is as beautiful, fun and awesome as you are!

This week was AWESOME! We saw so many miracles!

Matthew was baptized yesterday!!!!! Remember how Satan went hard at Cory right before he got baptized (he and his wife had to go to the ER)? Well we thought it couldn’t get worse than that for Matthew, but Satan went even harder this time! He wasn’t able to make it to church because of some crazy crazy stuff and then we had to postpone his baptism because he almost didn’t make it to that. He had a huge anxiety/panic attack but he also has the best fellowshipper ever – he is a returned missionary and he is awesome. He went over to pick Matthew up and got him to calm down and they made it to the baptism! Matthew said that he still had a lot of nerves until he got baptized. After that, he felt completely calm and at peace. And he bore his testimony after and it was POWERFUL. He is converted and he has experienced the power of the Atonement. I love him so much and I know he will continue to grow and become stronger in his faith. He is amazing and it has been the biggest privilege to work with him.

The service itself was another miracle. Soooo many people came to support him. He has so many fellowshippers! There was so much love in that room and service. A recent convert gave the talk in baptism and a less active gave the closing prayer. Matthew has helped unify the ward.

We had interviews with President Villanueva on Tuesday!!! I love that man so much and I am grateful everyday that I was called to serve under him. He is the best mission president ever. He has changed this mission so much and he emphasizes the principle of BEDIENCE like no other. It’s been such a blessing.

Sister Robinson and I were asked to help out with the Gladys Knight fireside on Friday so we got to go down to Arcadia! It was such a nice tender mercy. Since the fireside was for all the wards and stakes in our mission, I got to see investigators and members from the past
areas I’ve served in! AHHHHH it was such a happy night! I got to see the Li family (the family in Arcadia that was baptized two weeks after I got transferred out), and a couple of English class students and the bishops/branch president from Arcadia and Alhambra. Not to mention, I got to see my trainer, Dorian Huang, and Megan Chan!! I was really grateful to Heavenly Father for that blessing. We didn’t get to see too much of the fireside, but the part that we did get to see was really good!

Last night was so special. We went to do our weekly visit with a couple who is coming back to activity. The wife has gone to church faithfully for almost two months now and her husband has now come for two weeks in a row! They just talked about their progression and all the “firsts” that are happening – both said their first prayer in church meetings yesterday, they’re both going to the temple to do baptisms for the dead for the first time on June 11, the wife read a verse of scripture in Sunday School for the first time – and all the blessings they are seeing from it. I felt so much happiness for them! We testified to them that Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ love them so much and are so proud of them. The wife started crying and her husband said “I think she’s touched.” It was a precious moment. I love seeing how the gospel and spiritual CPR a changes people and truly makes them happier.

We also had so many small experiences this week that has strengthened our testimony that Heavenly Father truly answers our prayers, even the small ones – for example, buses being on time.

I know that the Lord keeps all His promises. I know that He doesn’t give us anything we can’t handle. However, He gives us many opportunities to be stretched and stronger. I know that our faith in Jesus Christ and His Atonement can strengthened simply by praying, studying the scriptures (especially the Book of Mormon), and going to church. I know repentance is real and it is central to our message. That is why we are to teach repentance! I am so grateful to serve in the Sunland area at this time. Miracles are abundant here and the Lord’s hand is apparent.

I invite you all to read “Witnesses Unto Me” by Jeffrey R. Holland in the April 2001 General Conference. (https://www.lds.org/general-conference/2001/04/witnesses-unto-me?lang=eng). Something I stood out to me while I read this talk during studies this morning was when he talked about praying for missionaries. Thank you for praying for us! We need it! But there’s more to just praying for the missionaries! We know that when we pray, we need to pray with real intent which is to pray with the intent of acting in the
promptings/answers you receive. So when you pray for missionaries, make sure to act on the prompting you receive as to how YOU can help us missionaries in this work! The stats show it – more convert baptisms come from member referrals than from the missionaries’
efforts alone. We need you! I know that whenever we participate in missionary work, the Lord blesses us with more joy and an added amount of the Spirit. He knows exactly what you need and if you help do His work, He will give you those blessings. I love this work so much.
Have a wonderful week!

Love,
Sister Huang

Leave a Reply

