And It Was a Rough One… But My Brother is Going on a Mission!!!

Hello world!!!

CONGRATULATIONS TO MY BROTHER FOR GETTING HIS MISSION CALL TO THE TAIWAN TAICHUNG MISSION!!! You’re going to the best place ever!!! It’s our motherland and the same mission my mom went! When I found out, I started crying on floor. Words can’t even begin to describe how proud I am of you and how happy I am for you! I just want to hug you a million times and scream for joy!! You are going to be an amazing missionary, example, friend and leader. I KNOW you will do wonders and that the Lord will perform so many miracles through you as long as you are obedient and humble (which you are!). I am still really sad that you’re leaving two months before I get home aka we won’t see each other for 3 1/2 years 😦 But I just want you to know how much I love being a missionary. I love it with my whole heart and soul and it really is the best decision I have ever made and probably will ever make. And I know you will love your mission just as much! Doctrine and
Covenants 15:6:

“And now, behold, I say unto you, that the thing which will be of the most worth unto you will be to declare repentance unto this people, that you may bring souls unto me, that you may rest with them in the kingdom of my Father. Amen.”

You have just signed up to be part of the best thing ever.

Okay so this week was ROUGHHHHH. It started on Monday and when we thought it couldn’t get worse, it kept getting worse. One thing I have definitely learned on my mission is that Satan is so real and he’s doing a lot to stop us from fulfilling our purpose as missionaries. We are glad that week is over but I also learned a lot.

1.) Even in the hardest of times, if you are unified and love your companion, all is well in Zion. It makes things a lot easier to handle and you can still be happy and laughing during the challenging times. We were able to laugh a lot this week and it was great. And after 14
months, I feel like I have finally learned how to have true charity for my companion and how to put her before my area. Love overcomes fear and charity never faileth!

2.) The best medicine is work. Though we were in a rough spot spiritually, mentally, physically and emotionally, we kept working and we worked hard. We taught many people and 26 lessons and it always did make us feel better. Work work work! Sometimes, it’s hard to get yourself to start, but when you do and you put your all in it, you feel SO good.

3.) I went to Alhambra with Sister Mann this past week to do exchanges and I totally thought I would feel “homesick” for Chinese work, but I didn’t! It was a confirmation to me that I am supposed to be here serving in Sunland in English work with Sister Robinson at this time. Don’t get me wrong, I still love and miss the Chinese people and food and culture and how unique the work is, but Heavenly Father has helped me move on.

4.) Contacting referrals within 24 hours is inspired direction. We got two referrals this week and contacted one in 20 minutes and the other one in 2 hours and we were able to pick up two new investigators! One was a self referral and the other was the girlfriend of a less active that we were told to visit!

So those were just a few of the many lessons I learned this week. I am really grateful for trials, but also with the many opportunities to help bear other people’s burdens and exercise that charity.

We had a super bomb lesson with Matthew on Saturday with the best members ever. He really won the gold mine for fellowshippers. The Spirit was guiding every single person in that lesson. I wish it was recorded so I could replay it over and over. It was one of the most
powerful lessons I have ever had on my mission. All of his lessons are. I feel so privileged to be a part of his journey.

Speaking of being a part of people’s journeys, we found out yesterday that the Marrs are moving to Arizona on Wednesday. Yep, this Wednesday. We were so sad. So so sad. This family means everything to us and the fact that we can’t see them twice or three times a week is so sad. But they are going to do great wherever they are. Cory got the priesthood yesterday and Natalia received her patriarchal blessing yesterday as well. So they are super solid and never wavering. We are going to miss them so much. Their next ward is one lucky ward. Ooh also fun fact. The ward they are moving to was actually the first church Cory went to. At that time, both of them were not members and he was upset that Natalia was going. And now, they are going back and both are members!! I am so grateful to be part of their journey. And yes, Sister Robinson and I are still going to their temple sealing
next year.

Well, we just got some bad news so please please please keep us in your prayers. Good news is we are going to have a really really cool Mission Leadership Council on the temple grounds and then doing a session as an MLC tomorrow! We are super stoked. Also probably why Satan has been getting super real recently. But yeah, super excited!!

I love you all. Thank you so much for your love, support, and example. Each one of you means so much to me! And I want you all to know how much I truly love my Savior. He is my all and it really is the best blessing to wear His name over my heart everyday and do His work. Despite all the hardships, I love being a missionary. I love it more than dancing and food and llamas combined. I LOVE IT.

Have an amazing week! Hug someone this week and remind them that God and Jesus Christ loves them so much.

Love,
Sister Huang

Leave a Reply

