No More Arcadia and No More Chinese.

12699303_10155078798598504_124506145_o

Hello world!!!

Transfers. I still haven’t had time to process it. And I think I’m too scared to because I will break down haha. I think I just laid in bed for 2 hours after we got the call that night. I couldn’t sleep! Literally, I was 99% sure that Sister Gong and I were staying in Arcadia for another transfer.  It was a reminder that Heavenly Father knows how to push us out of our comfort zone.

So Sister Gong and I are leaving Arcadia. Sister Gong is going back to Alhambra to be in a trio with Sister Mann and Sister Xia.

I am going to English work in Sunland to be a Sister Training Leader with Sister Robinson and to be honest, I am terrified. First of all, English work is a whole different ball game and speech is one of my biggest weaknesses, especially in English. Second, I am the most
unqualified person to be called as an STL. These past two transfers, I spent most of my efforts on helping Sister Gong so my missionary skills – teaching, finding, planning – are probably back at the level when I first started my mission. And I feel like I still haven’t
developed Christlike attributes so I don’t even know how I could help the other sisters. So inadequate.

But every time I think that I am inadequate or that I’m scared, I feel like the Holy Ghost reprimands me that I don’t have enough faith in Jesus Christ because if I did, I wouldn’t be so scared. Yesterday, we had a Stake Broadcast one of the talks was about not being afraid.
Right now, I feel like Peter as he was walking on the water and then the wind came. In the talk, he reminded us that as long as we keep our eyes fixed on Jesus Christ, we can do anything the Lord asks us to. So that’s what I am going to do.

Since both Sister Gong and I left Arcadia, Arcadia will be whitewashed by Elder Oh and Elder Ng. And I am so happy because if I could choose any two elders to whitewash the area dearest to my heart, it would be them two.

I am going to miss Chinese work so much. And I don’t know if I will be able to go back before I finish the mission. I really hope I do! Sorry mom and dad if I still can’t speak Chinese when I get home…

On another note, Heavenly Father is so kind and loving. He gave us a miracle last night so we could leave Arcadia on a good note. We met with the Li family. Oh my word, this family means the whole world to me. So remember how the dad agreed to be baptized on the 28 but the mom and son were still hesitant? Well, earlier this week, we met with them and then the dad said he wanted to reconsider because the rest of his family still wasn’t on board. We didn’t know what to say so we just told them to keep praying about it. Then yesterday, we brought up baptism again and guess what? The mom said that she has decided that she will be baptized on the 28 with her husband! AHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!! Prayers are answered! I am so sad that we won’t be able to see them get baptized but you can bet that I am going back for their sealing. It was so bittersweet to say bye to them. As I was hugging the mom, we both just started sobbing. I love her so much. I love this family so much. I really believe one of the reasons I stayed in Arcadia for 10 months was to find this family. They will forever and ever and ever have a special place in my heart.

I can’t even remember what else happened this week. My mind is frenzied right now. It was just incredibly hard to say bye to Arcadia and the Mountain View Ward and our investigators. Sunland is so different. Missionaries call it “outer darkness” because it is so far from the rest of the mission. Well for our mission standard because in comparison, we have one of the tiniest missions geographically speaking. Anyway, it’ll be different than being in Arcadia where we were within 10 minutes of 7-8 companionship. Here, it takes about 30-40 minutes to get to our sisters. Also apparently, there’s been a lot of changes in missionary leadership so we are planning to do two exchanges with each sister companionship (we only cover four so that’s good) plus studies with each companionship. It’ll be busy.

Well, despite being so terrified, I am so excited to work with Sister Robinson. She came out two weeks before me and she is definition of CONSECRATED and HARD-WORKING. I am not even exaggerating when I say that she is the hardest working missionary. I am so blessed to work with her and most of all, learn from her! She is the bomb.com and I can tell this will be an awesome transfer.

Okay well, here goes the first week of English work!! Loooooove you all so much!!!

-Sister Huang

PS: neither of us have a USB adapter so I don’t know when the next time I can send pictures is…. Sorry!! And I took a ton this past week so 😦

Leave a Reply

