Light ALWAYS Overcomes Darkness

Hello world!!

So many ups and downs this week. Opposition is so real. I don’t even know where to start with today’s email. SO MUCH HAPPENED.

Well, we can start with Linda who got baptized yesterday!!!!! Satan threw so many curveballs at her before she got baptized. My heart felt like it was being ripped and healed over and over this past week. On Tuesday, she had a bit of a situation which didn’t allow her to be interviewed on the original set day – Wednesday. We tried to figure something out, but she just said that she didn’t want to do the baptism interview anymore. I just prayed and prayed in my heart to know what to say. The gift of the Holy Ghost popped into my head so I just testified of this divine gift that can help her so much, especially when she returns back to her crazy life in China. We then invited her to pray to know when Heavenly Father wants her to be baptized – this week or seven months later when she hopefully comes back.

We then told her friend (the member who introduced her to church) and of course he was devastated. We then tried to come up with other options of when she could get interviewed, baptized and confirmed. He told us he would talk to her tonight. We prayed so hard Tuesday night that everything would work out. I felt like I really understood the meaning of placing it all in God’s hands. Wednesday morning comes around and the member calls telling us that Linda decided that she will do the interview on Saturday! Words cannot describe how I felt. I just kept thinking light will ALWAYS overcome darkness! So we got permission for her to be baptized and confirmed on Sunday and we had a beautiful service. It was so hard and sad to say bye to her since she is leaving for China tomorrow, but I know God will take care of her as well as those members in Shanghai. I love Linda so much and it has been the greatest opportunity and privilege to teach her and see her faith and testimony grow in such a short amount of time.

Also, being in a trio with Sister Dunn was the biggest blessing ever. I was so sad when we had to split up on Saturday. I learned so much from her in just this past week and she was everything I needed to keep on going. She really was God’s angel in helping me when I was about to break. I love her!!! And even though my Chinese decreased a ton in just one week, it was worth it. It was amazing to see how she could help discern our investigators’ needs even though she couldn’t understand them! It was also really cool to do some English work. It’s so different and I definitely understand why God put me in Chinese work rather than English. Basically, last week was like a one week exchange and it was awesome. It was also nice to eat some American food when the Arcadia Ward members invited us over for dinner.

Thursday was a day of counsel, support and advice. We had district meeting which is such a great opportunity to tune up our teaching skills. Then we had interviews with President Villanueva (which is always THE best!!!) and then interviews with our Zone Leaders. Then Friday, the Sister Training Leaders came over and did studies with us. So much inspiration and learning as the five of us sat in our living room discussing about the gospel and how to better help our friends.

We weren’t able to do as much as we wanted/visit as many people as planned since we had to divide our time amongst two areas. But can I just say again how much I LOVE our investigators? Heavenly Father has blessed us with the best (and cutest!) ones. I probably talked Sister Dunn’s ear off about all of our investigators this whole past week. I love them so much. We have an awesome family – a mom, dad and their ten year old son – who has so much DESIRE! We were able to explain to the dad about Satan and how he doesn’t want us to keep the commandments because he doesn’t want us to be happy (the dad wasn’t reading the Book of Mormon because of his busy schedule). It then just clicked for him and he was like “So every time I think I’m too busy to read the Book of Mormon, that is Satan trying to make me not do it!” The next time we followed up, he read the Book of Mormon!!!

We also have the sweetest lady that we are teaching. However, it’s been hard getting a hold of her and meeting with her because she’s so busy. On Tuesday, we decided to just call her to see how she’s doing and when I asked her how she was doing, she just started bawling. She told us how she just felt so overwhelmed and alone and lost. The not so good thing about loving people so much is that your heart hurts a lot when you know that they are hurting. But that goes under the covenant of mourning with those that mourn. It was so sad because we weren’t able to visit her that day but we visited her the next day. When we followed up on prayer, she said she felt more peace and more confident. Then we introduced the Book of Mormon and explained to her that it was another way of receiving more peace and guidance. She was excited to read it! I love the Book of Mormon.

Hm hm what else happened… Sister Gong’s English is improving! She was able to read Moses 1:39 yesterday all by herself (minus the long words like immortality and eternal). So proud of her.
Oh one more thing! Yesterday when I was reading Book of Mormon, I read an awesome chapter on member-missionary work – Helaman 5. Nephi and Lehi were AWESOME missionaries and so successful, but when they were preaching to the Lamanites, they just couldn’t get them to repent. God even straight up told them from the heavens that they needed to repent! THREE TIMES. And they still didn’t! It wasn’t until one of their own people – Aminidab – told them to repent that they finally softened their hearts, repented and then were able to feel peace. This is exactly why members are SO CRUCIAL in missionary work! As missionaries, we have the power and authority to teach, but it is the members (who are in the community and just in the “in”) that soften these people’s hearts so that they can accept the Holy Ghost and the gospel and feel that peace that only the gospel can bring.
Okay I am pretty sure this is the longest email I’ve sent. But I love you guys! Everyone can do hard things with the Atonement. It is BEYOND real.
Have a great week!
Love,
Sister Huang 

Leave a Reply

