Transfers

Hello world!!!
This transfer is so bittersweet.
I’m staying in Arcadia!!!!! I feel so so so blessed and happy. I love this place so much and I was so worried I was going to leave since I’ve been here for 7 months, but God is good! And Sister Gong is my new companion! She’s grown so much since I was last companions with her so I am really excited to work with her! I also have a new sense of renewal to be more consecrated and obedient this next transfer so with God’s help, we should be seeing many miracles these next six weeks! Sister Mann moved to Alhambra to be with Sister Xia and I know they will continue to excel.
The Chinese Zone is officially dissolved. We had one last zone breakfast this morning and then went our separate ways. Next time we will all be together is probably the Christmas party. And since our zone split, we won’t be able to see our dear Chinese sisters every Thursday which is super sad. But I know that this is revelation and that many miracles and blessings will come from it! Funny thing is our new district consists of two bilinguals, two English only speakers and two Chinese only speakers. So Elder Chui will teach and I will translate and roleplays should be interesting.
Heavenly Father has blessed us with some great, solid investigators. We gave one of our newer investigators a Book of Mormon and she told us that she’s come in contact with several churches but was never too interested in learning more. She has also tried reading the Bible but could never get past the first couple verses in Genesis. During our lesson though, she said that she feels like she has more desire in learning more and if she could read into the Book of Mormon, she would take that as her answer that she her “time has come” to learn more and find a religion. I’m so excited for her to feel the power and truthfulness of the Book of Mormon. I KNOW Heavenly Father wants her to read it and will help her do so! I love the Book of Mormon so much.
We also had a great contacting experience and miracle last night! It was around 8:00 at night and our plans fell through so we decided to go to the park to go contacting! We got to the parking lot and my jaw dropped. There were literally ZERO cars in the parking lot. I have never seen Arcadia Park so empty before. Nonetheless, we said a humble prayer that we would find prepared people here at this park and then we went into the park. There was no one at the park. But Heavenly Father provides for His missionaries. Sometimes, I really can’t take in all the love He has for His missionaries. As we continued walking, we found some people. We talked to everyone, but not too much success. It was about time to go home so we started walking back to our car when we saw a couple walking near us. We started talking to them and the husband recognized us as “Mormon missionaries” and a couple minutes in, the wife literally said “I want to learn more about your church, but I need to first get my driver’s license. But after, I will definitely go to your church.” I think this is my first time ever hearing that. Yes, many people have said that when they have time, they’ll come to our church and see how it is, but they usually don’t. However when we were talking to this couple, I just had a confident feeling that we had found Heavenly Father’s prepared children. This work is magnificent.
There were many times this week when I felt like Heavenly Father was teaching me how to completely rely on the Spirit. Trusting others is definitely still a big weakness of mine, but Heavenly Father teaches us with love and patience. There was one lesson this past week when I just felt stuck. It was at that moment when I realized I had still been relying too much on myself and that I needed Heavenly Father’s help. I just prayed and prayed in my heart that He would help me know what to say. I can’t say that I had a huge revelation or feeling, but I can say that it was a humbling experience that I most definitely needed.
It’s Thanksgiving this Thursday! I want to challenge each one of you to write a list of one hundred things you are grateful for. If one hundred seems too much, think of 10 people you’re grateful for, 10 foods you’re grateful for, 10 life experiences you’re grateful for, 10 modern day technologies you’re grateful for, etc.. I know that counting our blessings will only make us happier! There are many things that we can’t control in our lives, but being grateful is in our control! So let yourself be happy and count your blessings!
I am grateful for each one of you. I am grateful for this gospel. I am grateful for my Savior and Heavenly Father who have always been and always will be at my side. I am also so grateful for my family (I have realized more and more how obsessed I am with my family haha. You guys are BOMB). I am grateful to be called of God to preach His gospel!
Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!!!
Love,
Sister Huang
Leave a Reply

