God’s Words

Hello world!!
As we went about missionary life this week, so many scriptures, General Conference talks, and hymns flowed through my mind. I love how God’s words come in different forms.
After General Conference, the first scripture I decided to “ponderize” was Alma 5:26:
“And now behold, I say unto you, my brethren, if ye have experienced a change of heart, and if ye have felt to sing the song of redeeming love, I would ask, can ye feel so now?”
I love this scripture. I loved Devin G. Durrant’s invite. This past week, I have felt that change of heart. The process of developing a broken heart and contrite spirit is what Sister Mann would say is “soul cringing” but it is so worth it. And I have realized that the process doesn’t just happen over the course of one day, but it’s also part of “enduring to the end.” But each time my heart breaks a little or my soul cringes, I begin to feel more of this “change of heart” and boy, do I want to belt out the song of redeeming love! Like Sister Neill F. Marriott said, “Paradoxically, in order to have a healed and faithful heart, we must first allow it to break before the Lord. ‘Ye shall offer for a sacrifice unto me a broken heart and a contrite spirit,’ the Lord declares. The result of sacrificing our heart, or our will, to the Lord is that we receive the spiritual guidance we need.”
Yesterday during the Sacrament, I was pondering over and trying to figure out God’s will for our area. A scripture popped into my head that made my heart swell. It is Alma 26:12:
“Yea, I know that I am nothing; as to my strength I am weak; therefore I will not boast of myself, but I will boast of my God, for in his strength I can do all things; yea, behold, many mighty miracles we have wrought in this land, for which we will praise his name forever.”
This transfer has humbled me a lot. In the span of six weeks, I feel as if Heavenly Father exposed all my weaknesses and man, I am WEAK. Sister Xia made up for all my weaknesses and after six months of being with her, six weeks without her was hard. But change is part of life and change is how we improve. And during this transfer, I feel like I have come to know my Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ on a more personal level and my love for them has deepen. I have learned to humble myself. I have learned to trust in God. I have learned to rely on His strength. I have learned and am continuing to learn from the refiner’s fire.
Also last week marked a year since I opened my call letter. I still remember that morning when my mom texted me to read the hymn “I’ll Go Where You Want Me to Go.” I remember when I was reading the first verse, my eyes welled up and I went from being nervous to at peace. I was reading the lyrics again the other day and this time, it was the third verse that stuck out to me.
“There’s surely somewhere in a lowly place
In earth’s harvest fields so wide
Where I may labor through life’s short day
For Jesus Christ, the Crucified.
So trusting my all to thy tender care,
And knowing thou lovest me,
I’ll do thy will with a heart sincere:
I’ll be what you want me to be.”
I want to share one more scripture that I thought of this week. Several people have sent me this scripture during my mission. It’s Doctrine and Covenants 84:88:
“And whoso receiveth you, there I will be also, for I will go before your face. I will be on your right hand and on your left, and my Spirit shall be in your hearts, and mine angels round about you, to bear you up.”
The members in the Mountain View Ward are angels. Right now, we are still struggling to find people. It can get really discouraging at times. But these members can make any rough day a good one. Their example and their kindness and selflessness all radiate the light of Christ. One of the biggest blessings of serving here is working with these members.
We had a lesson with our progressing investigator and we invited one of our less actives to come teach with us. She has been going strong on the path to reactivation. During the lesson, she bore her testimony several times and it was so heartwarming to hear her journey of knowing that there is a God and developing a testimony. I love being a missionary.
Well, I love you all so much! I am grateful to be a servant of the Lord in Arcadia. I am grateful for every single experience the mission has brought me. I am grateful for each person that I have crossed paths with and worked with. This gospel is true! Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ lives!
Love,
Sister Huang

Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

