At Peace Amidst The Disappointments

MOONCAKE!!! Happy Mid-Autumn Festival!!! This was from a dear member.

MOONCAKE!!! Happy Mid-Autumn Festival!!! This was from a dear member.

Okay I just had to take a picture of this because a member invited us over to her house and we had barbeque and it's just been so long since I've done an outdoor barbeque and I don't know when the next time this will happen on my mission (or if it ever does). So I was super excited haha.

Okay I just had to take a picture of this because a member invited us over to her house and we had barbeque and it’s just been so long since I’ve done an outdoor barbeque and I don’t know when the next time this will happen on my mission (or if it ever does). So I was super excited haha.

Hello world!!

First of all, Harriet, you looked great in your homecoming pictures! But still, stop growing up so fast, it’s kind of freaking me out….
I am grateful. The Lord has definitely been trying us these past several weeks, but I feel so grateful. Usually when disappointments happen, I get really stressed and frustrated. However, I feel like my nature is changing. Rather than feeling disappointed, I feel at peace because I know that God has His own timing and as long as I am doing my best, He will take care of the rest. I am really grateful for my companion, Sister Mann, who prays for me and my well being everyday. I am grateful for my ward mission leader, who gave me a wonderful priesthood blessing full of comfort and counsel. I am grateful to serve in this special mission where I have served in the same two areas and one district/zone for my whole mission so far (also I think Heavenly Father knows how much I can’t handle change, so He’s blessed me on this one, haha). I love seeing the missionaries change and improve, seeing Alhambra and Arcadia change and improve and seeing the missionaries changing and strengthening the areas. I am so grateful for prophets, seers and revelators and for the leaders in our church. I am so grateful we get to hear their words semi-annually. The General Women’s Broadcast last weekend was the most uplifting. I love how President Uchtdorf used a whole story as his talk to share with us how to let ourselves be happy.
Also, from this past week, I can testify again that there are no such things as coincidences! Everything is perfectly laid out by Heavenly Father! So on Friday, a member treated us to lunch at a restaurant. While we were in the parking lot, looking for a spot, I noticed a lady wearing shoes that looked super familiar. I felt kinda creepy slowly driving behind her, but then as I pulled up next to her, guess who it was?!? JUDY XIA!! If you don’t remember, she got baptized back in July and then kinda MIA-ed for a long time. But we saw her!! And boy was it a happy reunion. Haha I almost cried. At that moment, I just felt a huge surge of love for Judy and a confirmation that Heavenly Father really does love and look out for each one of His children.
On Sunday, none of the investigators we invited to church showed up. But guess who did? Our less-active friend who served in Taiwan! Earlier this week when we met with her, she shared with us things that without a doubt, pained and hurt her badly. We have been meeting with her weekly since May and now in September, she started opening up. Everyone has their own time and Heavenly Father also has His own time. As she was sharing though, I felt like my heart was being ripped out of my chest – guys, people have reasons as to why they become less active. Enduring to the end is not easy. But she is on her way to becoming active and it is so exciting to see every time she takes a step towards it. I am so proud of her! Plus, she makes us really good food so that’s always a plus.
Speaking of food, I want to share a funny story that depicts just how sweet and thoughtful these members are. On Saturday after the General Women’s broadcast, we were talking to an elderly sister in our ward. Since we didn’t go to the dinner before the broadcast (because we had another dinner appointment), she was extremely worried that we were hungry. So imagine this. This elderly lady yelling at us (her hearing isn’t too good) asking if we had dinner and us yelling back at her saying that we did and we were really full and then she, not listening to us, casually takes out a tupperware of food from her purse and gives it to us. Chinese people will ALWAYS make sure their friends are fed, even if that means carrying around a tupperware of food in their purse, hahaha. Sister Mann and I were laughing so hard. These members are just so dear to me!!! I love them so much.
AHHH General Conference is this weekend!! Everyone go listen to the prophet’s voice! This is so so exciting. And we will be getting three new apostles! Conference can’t come faster! This church is true! Thomas S. Monson is God’s prophet on the earth! He has the keys to receive revelation for all of us so let us listen to and heed his words!
I love you all so much!

Love,
Sister Huang
Leave a Reply

