Works Without Faith is Dead

The one picture from the week: We had to chase a dog around a neighborhood and my bag strap ended up doubling as a leash. Tender mercy haha.

The one picture from the week: We had to chase a dog around a neighborhood and my bag strap ended up doubling as a leash. Tender mercy haha.

Hello dearest friends and family!!

First off, happy belated birthday to my brother, Shane!! So weird that you’re 18 now….

It’s been another solid week here in Arcadia. We have been seeing so many miracles and blessings. They don’t show through our numbers, but they are big blessings in our eyes. In the past few weeks, we have been having to drop a lot of people and we were also having a hard time finding people. However, we continued to try our best and be exactly obedient and diligent and boy did Heavenly Father pour out those blessings upon us this week. We got referrals and our potential investigator list basically doubled. We are excited to start meeting with them this week! There are some pretty solid ones who already have fellow-shippers!
Speaking of fellow-shippers, our ward’s attitude and drive toward missionary work is improving so much! I think a lot of it was from our stake conference last week. Anyway, we had a great and delicious potluck on Saturday to celebrate Mid-Autumn Festival (even though I think it’s this coming Sunday?) and so many of our investigators came and several members brought their friends! Other members also helped us give rides to our other investigators and it was just awesome. That’s something Sister Mann is really good at. Delegating. Many times, we cannot take care of everyone ourselves since there are just 2 of us. So delegating and members are so important! Asking for help is so important! I think I often forget that we can’t do everything. Also, Ward Council yesterday was the bomb. There was such a noticeable sense of love and care as we discussed our members, less actives, recent converts and investigators. I really felt like this was a true team effort and I just sat in there with a happy heart.
We also had Mission Conference on Tuesday and Elder Echo Hawk from the Seventy came in and talked to us! We learned so much. I wish I could type everything that we learned because it was so inspiring and so full. However, to sum it all up, everything that was talked about all boiled down to two things: 1.) EXACT obedience and 2.) Faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. Sister Mann and I were talking about it after conference and we agreed that we were doing a good job with the exact obedience part. We also agreed that we have been working hard like crazy. But the thing we needed to do better on was having more faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. Faith without works is dead, but works without faith is also dead. So this past week, we studied about that everyday. Preach My Gospel has a great definition of faith:
“Faith in Jesus Christ is more than a passive belief in Him. It means believing that He is the Son of God and that He suffered for your sins, afflictions, and infirmities. It means acting on that belief. Faith in Jesus Christ leads you to love Him, trust Him, and obey His commandments.”
I know that Jesus Christ is at the head of this church. I know that He is also at the head of this work. He knows what He is doing and through small and simple means, He lets His missionaries know what He wants us to do. I know He lives and I love Him, trust Him and I want to obey all His commandments.
In other words, we finally got a hold of one of our investigators that came back from China about a month ago! And when we met with him, HE set his own baptism date for the end of October! This is literally the second investigator we’ve had this transfer who set their own baptism date. He is golden and prepared. He lost the habit of reading the Book of Mormon and praying everyday while he was in China but after our lesson with him last week, he recommitted himself to get back into the habit. AHHHH blessings and happiness abounding!!!
Being a missionary is the best, even though everyday is hard. I really don’t want to be anywhere else. Many times, I wish I could do this for the rest of my life. I love wearing my name tag with Jesus Christ’s name right under mine. What a blessing and what a privilege.
I love you all!! Be a little more grateful in your prayers this week 🙂
Love,
Sister Huang
Leave a Reply

