Faith: Submissive Ambition

Hello everyone!!

My thoughts are all over the place right now so I’ll try to keep this email somewhat focused…

It’s kind of crazy how fast things can change in just one week. The two weeks prior to this past week were full. We felt like we were finding so many prepared people everywhere. Everything was coming together. Then this past week rolled along and lessons were dropped one right after the other. So much of our proselyting time was taken away since we had New Missionary Orientation, Zone Meeting and Stake Conference (all good things that gave us much inspiration and direction, but it the fact it was all in the same week was like ahhhhhhhh!). By Friday, I was getting pretty stressed. We had set some high goals and we just weren’t even close to reaching them. I started stressing out over the thought that maybe it was because we weren’t working hard enough, we weren’t using our time well enough, we weren’t being obedient enough – basically I just felt like I was doing something wrong or that I was not good enough to help our area. I went to bed every night drained but not satisfied. There was always the question “What more could I have done today for Arcadia?” “What more can I do tomorrow?”

However, it’s a new week. I am so grateful for that. I am also so grateful for the meetings last week. I received answers and confirmations. I have a clearer idea as to what direction Heavenly Father wants us to take. It’s hard to submit to God’s will sometimes, but I know it will all work out in the end.

So at the beginning of the week, Sister Mann shared with me another one of her wise thoughts. She told me she often likes to make oxymorons or paradoxes with gospel terms. One example that she shared was she likes to think of faith as “submissive ambition.”
Submissive: ready to conform to the authority or will of others.
Ambition: a strong desire to do or to achieve something, typically requiring determination and hard work.
I love it! And I felt like it was so suitable for this past week. We are doing the Lord’s work, His way. As missionaries, as Latter-day Saints, we have the responsibility to consecrate ourselves to Him and His work, aka, be submissive. But we need to be ambitious in doing so!

Another thought I wanted to share from this past week came from Zone Meeting. During the meeting, the Zone Leaders talked about serving and loving everyone, whether they are nice or mean, like or dislike you. They made a great comparison. They said that when Jesus Christ healed the 10 lepers, He already knew that only one would come back and thank Him. However, He still healed all of them. When He atoned for every single person to walk on the face of the earth, He knew many would deny Him or not believe in Him. However, He still atoned for all of us and He did it willingly and lovingly. So guys, think of someone who might not be the nicest person to you and think of a way to love and serve them this week. Pray for charity because He will give it to you. I’ve experienced it.

In other words, I was asked to help translate for the sisters who spoke in Stake Conference this past week. I just kept thinking “I hope my mom’s translation abilities got passed down to her kids.” Haha, my Chinese still has so more room to improve.
I love you all so much!!! I love Heavenly Father and my Savior, Jesus Christ. I know He atoned for each one of us. I know that we can feel their perfect love for us as we pray, read the scriptures, go to church and keep the commandments.

Love,
Sister Huang
Leave a Reply

