Living on the Small and Tender Mercies

Being companions for 6 months needs a picture

Being companions for 6 months needs a picture

On Tuesday, we had a ant killing spree in our bathroom....

On Tuesday, we had a ant killing spree in our bathroom….

A member gave us some KRISPY KREME DONUTS. Those who know me well know how excited I get about food but let me tell you, I was BEYOND excited when I saw the donuts. It's tender mercies like these :)

A member gave us some KRISPY KREME DONUTS. Those who know me well know how excited I get about food but let me tell you, I was BEYOND excited when I saw the donuts. It’s tender mercies like these 🙂

Pday

Pday

Hello world!!!

This week was a blur. It was fast and slow at the same time. We had some pretty discouraging moments where Satan was definitely trying to get us down. But Heavenly Father won’t give us anything we can’t handle right? Saturday night, we just had a long pep talk and now we are more driven than ever to strengthen Arcadia and ESPECIALLY get more member involvement. In my mind, retention is basically impossible without members’ help. Missionaries will come and go frequently, but these members will stay. Not only do us missionaries need members’ help, but our investigators need them even more! So please please please, help out those missionaries and their investigators in your ward!!! Make a new friend!
We also had a solid district meeting on Thursday. It was focused on contacting and finding. So before, Sister Xia and I would go biking everywhere to give us more opportunities to contact, but since Sister Mann doesn’t have a bike yet, we have been driving – aka less time to contact people. So to be honest, it has been a while since we did some solid contacting. But after district meeting, we were pumped to go out and contact. Elder Asenjo, our district leader, said that if a lesson drops, go contact. It is because we need to believe and KNOW that there are very specific souls that are FULLY prepared to receive the gospel. So we decided to fit in some contacting time after district meeting. While contacting and getting rejected, we met an old man and had a pretty funny conversation and he said he would come visit our church on Sunday. A lot of people will say that and end up not coming, but on Sunday, HE CAME! And he brought his daughter with him! It’s little things like these that can make a missionary’s heart happy.
Speaking of church, NINE of our investigators came! Formers included! The blessings God gives are just so tender. And church itself was just edifying. I was feeling really unsettled and my heart was still hurting so during the sacrament, I just kept praying with all my heart that Heavenly Father could take this burden and pain away. Guys, the Atonement is real. It heals and it comforts and it brings peace. I am so grateful for Jesus Christ. He is my best friend.
In other words, our investigator (J) that has a baptism date set for the 30th is on track! She can’t remember much of what we teach and she learns a bit slow, but her testimony and faith is strong. She loves Heavenly Father and she is humble and grateful. I love her so much.
I feel like my perspective on the mission is widening and expanding every week. I really feel the Lord shaping me. We plan on working even harder this week and hope to see more miracles!
Love,
Sister Huang
Leave a Reply

