The Words of God

Sister Xia hit her six month mark this past week! She is so cute. I asked her what she wanted to eat for dinner so that I could treat her. Of all the places, she wanted In-N-Out. She's become an American (even though she doesn't want to ever admit it hahaha).

Sister Xia hit her six month mark this past week! She is so cute. I asked her what she wanted to eat for dinner so that I could treat her. Of all the places, she wanted In-N-Out. She’s become an American (even though she doesn’t want to ever admit it hahaha).

DSC00827

We hiked up (or I should probably say down) the San Gabriel Mountains early in the morning. I've got to say, it's definitely a lot easier to hike in California than Utah because of the elevation haha. But the waterfall had almost no water because of the drought so that was that.

We hiked up (or I should probably say down) the San Gabriel Mountains early in the morning. I’ve got to say, it’s definitely a lot easier to hike in California than Utah because of the elevation haha. But the waterfall had almost no water because of the drought so that was that.

(July 27)

Hello wonderful people!

It’s great to be back in Arcadia! Even though Sister Xia and I were only gone for 6 weeks, Arcadia has changed a lot. Sister Huang and Sister Chan left us with a pretty solid teaching pool. It’s kind of nerve-wracking “pink washing” an area, but Heavenly Father is definitely helping us every step of the way. Also, did I mention how much I LOVE doing missionary work with Sister Xia? And being in my first two-person companionship, I think it’s pretty swell. Both trios and duos are great, but there’s definitely a reason why us missionaries are called two-by-two.

Anyway, after being together 24/7 for almost half a year, Sister Xia and I have a really great relationship – missionary wise and friend wise. I am definitely sure that we will be eternal friends. I told her that I’ll probably start developing “princess syndrome” soon because she is seriously just too good to me. I am so blessed. She’s also a really hard worker. We are both on the same page as to what we want to accomplish on this mission so it’s pretty awesome. Being unified with your companion is one of the biggest blessings on the mission. Once the two of you are unified, the work can progress with faster speed and more success. We hope to see much success during this transfer! We have set several goals – personal, companion and area – and you bet we are working hard to accomplish them!

So as for the miracles of this week. On Wednesday, we planned a list of potentials and investigators to visit. However, things just weren’t happening and our spirits were pretty down. We planned to contact for the last 1 1/2 hours of the day but by that time, we just weren’t feeling it. However, we decided to muster up our faith and just do it. Heavenly Father blesses His missionaries when they work. We were able to have two lessons while contacting and also get a referral! Sister Xia and I went to bed with a happy and grateful heart.

Another sweet tender mercy. As we were going through and visiting potentials this past week, we were able to contact the mom of a potential. The son (potential) wasn’t home, but she said we could come back on Saturday morning. We were pretty excited. So Saturday morning comes and we bike to this person’s house. On our way there, a lady stops us on the street and asks for directions. We helped her and quickly told her we were missionaries (she was late for work) and gave her an English class flyer. She seemed interested and also appreciative of our service and very willingly gave us her phone number and then drove off. When we got to the potential’s house, he told us he wasn’t interested and that his friend pulled a prank by referring him to us because they didn’t think that we would actually come. My heart literally ached when I heard that. It was disappointing but as we were biking home, Sister Xia and I said that it was definitely Heavenly Father’s plan for us to bike to his house and meet the lady on the way there. Even though meeting her and getting her number didn’t seem like a big deal, it was a blessing for us.

I have decided to go back and start reading and studying the Book of Mormon from the beginning. What a difference it has brought to my personal study! Everyday this week, I felt like Heavenly Father was POURING out answers, guidance and motivation to me through The Book of Mormon. I have read 1 Nephi so many times, but there have been phrases and verses that I felt had a completely different meaning to me compared to the previous times I have read it. It was a reaffirmation to me that this book is the word of God. I know that The Book of Mormon is true. I know that through earnestly searching and pondering its words, we can receive revelation. Heavenly Father will let us know what we need to do. We can better understand His will and plan for us through this book. There is no way this book was written any other way EXCEPT by divine guidance and revelation. I am so grateful for the Book of Mormon. It really has become my favorite book. So if you haven’t read it, READ IT. If  you have read it, READ IT AGAIN. Read it over and over and over! Let Heavenly Father to help and guide you!

I know this church is true. I love this gospel with all my heart. I love Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ even more. I am forever grateful to be a part of this great work.

Love,

Sister Huang

Leave a Reply

