Submitting Cheerfully

Sister Chan did exchanges with Sister Gong so our original trio was united once more in Arcadia :) I miss and love working Sister Huang

Sister Chan did exchanges with Sister Gong so our original trio was united once more in Arcadia 🙂 I miss and love working Sister Huang

Our Zone/family! This was Sister Chan and Elder Aun's last zone meeting :(

Our Zone/family! This was Sister Chan and Elder Aun’s last zone meeting 😦

We had dinner at the Lew's house (ward mission leader) and it was super super fun. We played telephone pictionary and my stomach just about died from laughing so hard.

We had dinner at the Lew’s house (ward mission leader) and it was super super fun. We played telephone pictionary and my stomach just about died from laughing so hard.

IMG_0160 IMG_0161

(July 6)

Hello world!

So ever since the beginning of my mission, I felt like there was a mental barrier that was holding me back from fully enjoying and loving the work. But through my interview with President Villanueva, companion exchanges, lessons and zone meeting, I finally figured it out. As ironic as it, I realized I have to relax.

It was funny because our STL, Sister Chan, told me the second week of this transfer that I needed to relax. President Villanueva told me that I needed to relax and take naps. During exchanges, Sister Huang told me multiple times that I needed to relax. I kept thinking that was impossible because this work, our investigators, my two companions, are all more important than my need to relax! But since I wasn’t relaxing, there were many times when I would just bottle in all my stress until I would hit near-emergency stress. Haha another one of my weaknesses. I can’t balance things.
But hey, through Jesus Christ, we can make our weaknesses become strengths, right?
RIGHT.
During Zone Meeting, we focused on humility and building our foundation on Jesus Christ. We read Doctrine and Covenants 12 and focused on verse 8. It is so interesting because in the scripture, humility comes before faith, hope and charity. Faith is the first building block in the gospel of Jesus Christ, but to have faith in Jesus Christ we have to first be humble. However, humility does not only mean submitting to God’s will for you, but doing it CHEERFULLY and with patience (Mosiah 24:15). Therefore, we have to embrace our weaknesses cheerfully with faith that God will make them become strengths. So through this self-discovery I can more fully submit myself and all my weaknesses to the Lord. And you gotta love Jesus Christ’s Atonement. Elder David A. Bednar in a General Conference talk said, “His Atonement […] enables us to do good and become better in ways that stretch far beyond our mortal capacities” (Bear Up Their Burdens with Ease). God sees us with an eternal perspective and will help us reach our highest potential.
In other news, our super 给力 investigator, Judy, passed her baptism interview and will be getting baptized next Sunday! This in itself was a huge test of her faith and our faith. There were so many “close calls” and barriers that almost got in the way. But as we all learned to submit to God’s will, He worked everything out for us. But please please please keep praying for her!
Another miracle that happened. We had a ton of lessons that got dropped at the beginning of the week and it was really discouraging, also with the fact that we had a goal for 19 lessons. However, we were so determined to make the last few days 给力. With our faith and diligence and Heavenly Father’s blessings, we were able to have 16 lessons this week. And even though it may seem like only a number and we didn’t meet our goal, it was a huge testimony builder to us that the Lord really provides when we do our best. We had super spiritual and powerful lessons. We had lessons that were unplanned that just popped up. We had finally met with some people that we weren’t able to contact for a long time. It was a blessed week to say the least.
I hope all you Americans had a great Fourth of July! Even though I technically am in America, I feel like a foreigner because Alhambra and Arcadia are basically China except with more space and better air haha.
Well, I love you all so dearly! Have a wonderful, happy week!
Love,
Sister Huang
Leave a Reply

