I Will Go and Do

Sister Rounds and I accidentally twinned!! She is such a darling missionary.

Sister Rounds and I accidentally twinned!! She is such a darling missionary.

Sister Thurgood! She is going home in two weeks. What a wonderful missionary she is. I love her dearly.

Sister Thurgood! She is going home in two weeks. What a wonderful missionary she is. I love her dearly.

Sister Xia's birthday was last Thursday! The zone leaders gave her an American flag hahaha. Funniest birthday present ever.

Sister Xia’s birthday was last Thursday! The zone leaders gave her an American flag hahaha. Funniest birthday present ever.

Last time us Arcadia missionaries are together :(

Last time us Arcadia missionaries are together 😦

Part of our district with Sister Thurgood and Sister Rounds at the despidida

Part of our district with Sister Thurgood and Sister Rounds at the despidida

Elder and Sister Hamilton - Elder Hamilton is the vehicle coordinator and had to put up with my silliest mistakes of filling the car with diesel. He is a great man and Sister Hamilton is the nicest and sweetest lady ever.

Elder and Sister Hamilton – Elder Hamilton is the vehicle coordinator and had to put up with my silliest mistakes of filling the car with diesel. He is a great man and Sister Hamilton is the nicest and sweetest lady ever.

Hello world!!

So Saturday was transfer calls. With the fact that we only have 5
sisters with one going home next transfer (Sister Chan) and the other
(Sister Huang) in two transfers, and only two areas, we all had a
pretty good prediction as to what the next transfer would be like. But
God is full of surprises. The whole zone kinda got a huge bomb dropped
on us.

Another one of our Chinese elders (Elder Simmons) got transferred to
English work for his last transfer. And we are getting an elder from
English/Spanish work coming to Chinese work. And as for us sisters…

Sister Xia and I are going to Alhambra and we will be in a TRIO
(again) with Sister Gong and Sister Huang and Sister Chan will be in
Arcadia! We were all so shocked. Why would Heavenly Father put the two
experienced sisters together and the three just-graduated trainees
together? To be honest, when we got the call, I was filled with pure
fear. I felt and still feel so inadequate and not ready at all to
leave my trainer and Arcadia.

However, I have received so much comfort and faith  through reading
the Book of Mormon and yesterday’s despidida. The Zone Leaders texted
us 1 Nephi 3:7 on the night of the calls.

“And it came to pass that I, Nephi, said unto my father: I will go and
do the things which the Lord hath commanded, for I know that the Lord
giveth no commandments unto the children of men, save he shall prepare
a way for them that they may accomplish the thing which he commandeth
them.”

We have shared this scripture with almost every one of our
investigators – usually to help them get more motivated to follow a
commandment – so we all have it memorized and know what it means. But
I feel like this is the first time I am truly implementing this
scripture in my life (sounds weird, I know). I am grateful though
because I feel like if I am to share this scripture with investigators
to help them strengthen their faith to keep a commitment, I need to
internalize it myself and I KNOW this transfer will make that happen.

This transfer will definitely be the hardest yet, but I know that
Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ is right by my side, every step of
the way. They will not let me fail. I also feel that my testimony and
love for the Atonement will grow a hundred fold these next six weeks
and I am excited. Change is extremely hard for me, but I know this is
Heavenly Father showing His love for me. He is refining me through
trials and challenges. How grateful I am to have a Heavenly Father who
loves me SO much to let me burn in the fire for a little (or a while).
I want to share another scripture I found and love:

“And not only so, but we glory in tribulations also: knowing that
tribulation worketh patience.”
Romans 5:3

Let us glory in tribulations, for they will only make us better and
more like our Savior Jesus Christ.

Have a wonderful week!
Love,
Sister Huang 黄姐妹

Leave a Reply

