First Week!

V__C53A DSC00327 DSC00300 (1) DSC00310

HELLO WORLD!!!!

Okay fun fact of the week: I found out that my branch president and his wife (President and Sister Teng) are a long time friends with my mom! When I first met them, they told me they immediately knew I was my mom’s daughter because apparently I look and act like her haha.
So anyway, MTC LIFE!
-I’m in a trio with Sister Chan and Sister Lee. They are both from Hong Kong so they are trilingual – English, Cantonese and Mandarin. Sister Chan is the sweetest and kind of like a modern day Confucius. She goes to BYU but is a year older than me. Sister Lee is HILARIOUS. She is super spunky and sarcastic and just fun overall. She goes to U of U but we still love her.
-My district is quite small. It’s made up of my trio and a solo elder. So when we are all finally in a two man companionship, it’ll be fun. The elder is Elder Huang and he is also from Taiwan! But he grew up in Australia so his accent is a funny mix between Australian and Chinese. We told him that he better enjoy this time when he’s with all sisters almost all the time because that probably won’t happen again for a long time.
-I got put on the fast track so I’ll only be here until next week. In fact, I just got my travel plans today! I will be leaving next Tuesday very early in the morning (3:30 am) and I’ll be arriving at Ontario, CA around 9:30! It feels ridiculously soon! But another fun fact: they started this fast track program for mandarin speakers just this semester. Before, you would be in the 9 week program or if you’re a native speaker, you would learn and train in English for 2 weeks. So I am very grateful to be in this program.
-I started a little pilates class during our gym time! It’s so cute. I printed off pilates stuff before I left and some sisters in my zone joined me in doing the workouts so it’s a grand time.
-I’ve seen quite a few people here at the MTC! Jonelle Sedgwick, Erin Rhodes (both from freshman ward), Christopher Keenan (home ward) and a lot of my old co-workers. Familiar faces at the MTC is the best.
-I’ve learned A TON. During the day, it doesn’t feel like it, but in hindsight, I’ve learned and grown so much these past 5 days. I now understand why people say missions are the hardest 2 or 1 1/2 years of your life and I’m not even out in the field! But I have learned to love how hard it is because it makes it an amazing learning and growing experience. I feel like I have found weaknesses that I didn’t know before but that is exciting because that is more that I can improve on! Also, I have awesome teachers and awesome leaders. I also am blessed with a very patient district since I am quite the amateur compared to them haha.
-We watched the Character of Christ last night by David A. Bednar. I remember all my friends who were at the MTC telling me to watch it but I never did. I wished I did! So if you haven’t watched it, PLEASE DO! Or if you have, watch it again. It’s amazing and I think we can learn something new from it every time. Elder Bednar talked about how we have to “put off the natural man” – stop thinking so much of ourselves and think outwards. He said that when we are dealing with our own adversity, we should not mope about ourselves, but turn outwards and think of others. He straight up told us, “Who cares about what you think or how you feel?” I thought that was hilarious but also profound. He said in order to be happy, we need to think of other people’s happiness and ours will come on its own. So this week I am going to try to not be selfish and think of me but to try to help others and care for others and be more sensitive them and I encourage you to do the same! You will be happier!
I love you all! Thank you to each one of you for your support and love. I keep telling myself that I am truly TOO BLESSED TO BE STRESSED! Happy Valentines day! I am sending all my love and more to each one of you!
love,
Sister Huang
Leave a Reply

